Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2015 - JRID48366

Submission Dates
Archive Date: 
August 31, 2014
Deadline to Apply for Job: 
September 5, 2014
Job Details
Job Category: 
Post-doctoral Positions and Fellowships
Institution/Company Name: 
Square Kilometre Array South Africa
Institution Classification/Type: 
Government Agency
Submission Address for Resumes/CVs
Attention To: 
https://nrfsubmission.nrf.ac.za/
Contact Information For Inquiries About Job
Email Address for Inquiries: 
natasha@ska.ac.za
Announcement
Job Announcement Text: 

South African Square Kilometre Array Project
Human Capital Development Programme
Postdoctoral Fellowships
Call for Applications (commencing 2015)

 

1.     SKA SA Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2015
The South African Square Kilometre Array Project (SKA SA) is calling for applications to fill five postdoctoral fellowships commencing in 2015.  The fellowships are awarded for a period of two years in the first instance, and will be extended to a third year if agreed to by the host university, the postdoctoral fellow and SKA SA. The value of a postdoctoral fellowship is ZAR 327,000 per annum, (non-taxable), and this amount is supplemented by travel and equipment grants. There is no relocation grant for postdoctoral fellowships. The fellowships are only tenable at South African universities, and all applications must be endorsed by the host / supervisor at the university where the fellowship will be undertaken. A list of potential supervisors who have indicated that they are willing to host SKA SA postdoctoral fellows is provided in the attached table. Applicants are encouraged to investigate the research specializations of the individuals and institutions to inform their choices and match their own strengths and interests.

2.     Research Focus for SKA SA Postdoctoral Fellowships for 2015
The high level aims of the SKA SA’s capacity development programme are to ensure that South Africa has the scientists and engineers needed to build and operate MeerKAT and SKA, and to ensure that African astronomers are empowered to extract maximum scientific value from the huge data volumes that will be produced by these instruments. To align the postdoctoral fellowship programme with these objectives, only proposals that address the broad areas of research listed below will be considered for funding.  Preference will be given to proposals that are deemed to be of most relevance to projects undertaken by SKA SA.

2.1  Observational and Computational Radio Astronomy

2.1.1       Epoch of Reionization

2.1.2       Radio Pulsars and transients

2.1.3       Cosmology and Galaxy Evolution, including Magnetism and Large Scale Structure

 

2.2  Radio Astronomy Engineering and Techniques

2.2.1       Interferometric Data Processing, including Calibration and Imaging

2.2.2       Real-time Signal Processing for Radio Astronomy

2.2.3       Mid-frequency Aperture Array technology

2.2.4       Wide-band Single-Pixel Receivers

2.2.5       DOME-relevant research, including Machine Learning, Micro-servers and Big Data topics

2.2.6       RFI Measurement, Monitoring, Mitigation and Excision

 

 

Application forms available at https://nrfsubmission.nrf.ac.za/

 

Closing date for applications: 5 September 2014

 

Potential 2015 SKA SA Postdoctoral Fellowship Hosts

 

Supervisor

University

E-mail

Broad Research Area

(See list above for codes)

Prof. Bruce Bassett
 

University of Cape Town
 

bruce.a.bassett@gmail.com

 

2.2.5

 

Dr. Gianni Bernardi

Rhodes University

 

gbernardi@ska.ac.za

 

2.1.1, 2.1.3, 2.2.1

Dr. Sarah Blyth
 

University of Cape Town

sarblyth@ast.uct.ac.za

2.1.3

Prof. Roy Booth

University of Pretoria

rbooth@ska.ac.za

2.1.2, 2.1.3

 

Prof. Claude Carignan
 

University of Cape Town

ccarignan@ast.uct.ac.za

 

2.1.3

 

Dr. H. Cynthia Chiang

University of KwaZulu Natal

chiang@ukzn.ac.za

 

2.1.1, 2.1.3, 2.2.3

 

Prof. Sergio Colafrancesco

University of the Witwatersrand

Sergio.Colafrancesco@wits.ac.za

 

2.1.3

Prof. Romeel Davé

University of the Western Cape

romeeld@gmail.com

 

2.1.1, 2.1.3

Prof. David Davidson

Stellenbosch University

Davidson@su.ac.za

 

2.2.3

Prof. Michael Inggs

 

University of Cape Town

Michael.Inggs@uct.ac.za

 

2.2.2, 2.2.5, 2.2.6

Prof. Thomas Jarrett

University of Cape Town

Jarrett@ast.uct.ac.za

 

2.1.3

 

Prof. Matt Jarvis

University of the Western Cape

matt.jarvis@astro.ox.ac.uk

 

2.1.3

 

Prof. Aris Karastergiou

Rhodes University & University of the Western Cape

aris@astro.ox.ac.uk

 

2.1.2, 2.2.2

 

Dr. Michelle Kuttel

University of Cape Town

mkuttel@cs.uct.ac.za

2.1.2, 2.2.6

Prof. Roy Maartens

University of the Western Cape

Roy.maartens@gmail.com

 

2.1.3

 

Prof. Petrie Meyer

 

Stellenbosch University

pmeyer@sun.ac.za

2.2.3

Dr. Amit Kumar Mishra

 

University of Cape Town

Amit.Mishra@uct.ac.za

 

2.2.2, 2.2.5

Prof. Kavilan Moodley
 

University of KwaZulu Natal

moodleyk41@ukzn.ac.za

 

2.1.1, 2.1.2, 2.1.3

Prof. Saurabh Sinha
 

University of Johannesburg

ssinha@uj.ac.za

 

2.2.3, 2.2.4

 

Prof. Oleg Smirnov

 

Rhodes University

 

o.smirnov@ru.ac.za

 

2.2.1, 2.2.3, 2.2.5

 

Dr. Tinus Stander
 

University of Pretoria

tinus.stander@up.ac.za

 

2.2.4

 

Prof. Mario Santos

 

University of the Western Cape

mariogrs@gmail.com

2.1.1, 2.1.3

Prof. A. Russell Taylor
 

 

University of Cape Town & University of the Western Cape

russ@ast.uct.ac.za

 

2.1.3, 2.2.1, 2.2.5

 

Dr. Kurt van der Heyden

University of Cape Town

heyden@ast.uct.ac.za
 

2.1.3

 

Prof. Patrick Woudt and

Prof. Rob Fender

University of Cape Town

pwoudt@ast.uct.ac.za

 

2.1.2

 

Included Benefits: 

No benefits information has been provided by the employer.