PhD positions at Australian National University / Mt. Stromlo Observatory

Submission Information
Publish Date: 
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Archive Date: 
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
To event remaining 2 days
Job Summary
Job Category: 
Pre-doctoral/Graduate Positions
Institution Classification/Type: 
Large Academic
Australian National University
Department Name: 
Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Street Line 1: 
Mt. Stromlo Observatory
Street Line 2: 
Cotter Rd.
Job Announcement Text: 

The Research School for Astronomy & Astrophysics (RSAA) at the Australian National University invites applications from outstanding undergraduate and masters students of all nationalities for three fully-funded PhD scholarships to begin in 2021. Students with previous research experience in Astrophysics are particularly encouraged to apply.

The Australian National University is Australia's premier university.  Our astronomers have won the Nobel Prize, the Prime Minister's Science Prize, and Australian Research Council Laureate, Federation, and Future Fellowships.  RSAA astronomers are members of the National Academies of Science in Australia, the USA, the UK, the Netherlands, and Spain.  Our graduating students regularly achieve prestigious international fellowships including Fulbright, Zonta, Hubble, CfA, ESO, Magellan, and Jansky Fellowships.

PhD research projects are at the cutting-edge of Astrophysics ranging from observations with the Hubble Space Telescope and state-of-the-art telescopes of the European Southern Observatory to theoretical simulations and modelling with high performance computers at ANU and the National Supercomputer facilities.

The RSAA also designed and built the first two Australian instruments for the Gemini Observatory, and is leading Australia's participation in the Giant Magellan Telescope, including development of the Giant Magellan Telescope Integral-Field Spectrograph. In addition to PhD projects in observational and theoretical Astrophysics we offer PhDs in instrumentation research and development.

The Australian National University is located in Canberra, the capital city of Australia. Canberra is one of the few capital cities where nature reserves and parkland are integral to the urban planning. RSAA is located at Mount Stromlo within the Stromlo Forest Park.  The Stromlo Forest Park includes a world-class mountain-biking trail, the Robert de Castella cross-country running track, the Stephen Hodge Criterium cycling circuit, and extensive equestrian and hiking trails.

Scholarship applications are due on 30 November 2020.  For details on how to apply to the RSAA graduate program, eligibility requirements, and available research supervisors and projects, please see

Included Benefits: 

The ANU offers a friendly and collaborative work environment, generous leave entitlements (including vacation, sick, and maternity leave) and prestigious top-up fellowships.

Application Deadline: 
Monday, November 30, 2020
Selection Deadline: 
Wednesday, January 20, 2021
Current Status of Position: 
Accepting Applicants
Apply to Job
Attention To: 
Professor Helmut Jerjen
Inquiries About Job
Attention To: 
Professor Helmut Jerjen
Graduate admissions