CITA National Fellowship

Submission Information
Publish Date: 
Friday, September 4, 2020
Archive Date: 
Friday, November 13, 2020
Job Summary
Job Category: 
Post-doctoral Positions and Fellowships
Institution Classification/Type: 
Large Academic
Various Canadian Universities
Job Announcement Text: 

CITA is a national centre for theoretical astrophysics located at the University of Toronto. As part of its mandate to promote research throughout Canada, the Institute provides partial support for postdoctoral fellows working in theoretical astrophysics or closely related fields at Canadian universities other than the University of Toronto, through the CITA Fellowship Programs.

There are two fellowships being offered: the CITA National Fellowship and the Canada Fellowship. National Fellows are two-year fellowships hosted entirely at a Canadian university other than the University of Toronto. Canada Fellows begin their tenure at a Canadian university outside the University of Toronto for the first two years and the subsequent two years at CITA for a total of a four-year fellowship.

If you are interested in a CITA Fellowship or Canada Fellowship, please contact any of the following faculty by email or check department websites for further research projects and details. Apply through the CITA application website and check off the Fellowships you are interested in applying to. You will be required to submit a CV, research statement and arrange for three letters of recommendation.

Please apply online at:

The deadline for applications and all letters of recommendation is November 13, 2020 for fellowships to start in September 2021.

Lorne Nelson, Bishop’s University (

Jeremy Heyl, University of British Columbia ( /

Eric Poisson, University of Guelph ( /

Samar Safi-Harb, University of Manitoba (

Cynthia Chiang, McGill University ( /

Nicolas Cowan, McGill University ( /

Eve Lee, McGill University (

Adrian Liu, McGill University (

Katelin Schutz, McGill University (

Björn Benneke, Université de Montréal (

Marcin Sawicki, Saint Mary's University ( /

Ruobing Dong, University of Victoria (

Falk Herwig, University of Victoria ( /

Sara Ellison, University of Victoria ( /

Julio Navarro, University of Victoria ( /

Mike Hudson, University of Waterloo ( /

Will Percival, University of Waterloo ( /

Shantanu Basu, University of Western Ontario ( /

James Taylor, Waterloo Centre for Astrophysics ( /

Please visit CITA's website at and click on “Opportunities” for more information.

Application Deadline: 
Friday, November 13, 2020
Current Status of Position: 
Accepting Applicants
Apply to Job
Attention To: