PhD positions at Australian National University / Mt. Stromlo Observatory

Submission Information
Publish Date: 
Friday, October 1, 2021
Archive Date: 
Friday, December 10, 2021
Job Summary
Job Category: 
Pre-doctoral/Graduate Positions
Institution Classification/Type: 
Large Academic
Australian National University
Department Name: 
Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Street Line 1: 
Mt. Stromlo Observatory
Street Line 2: 
Cotter Rd.
Job Announcement Text: 

The Research School for Astronomy & Astrophysics (RSAA) at the Australian National University invites applications from outstanding Undergraduate and Masters students of all nationalities for a number of fully-funded PhD scholarships to commence in 2022. Students with a strong background in Astronomy, Physics, Mathematics or related Engineering disciplines and previous research experience in Astrophysics are particularly encouraged to apply. 

The Australian National University is Australia's premier university.  Our astronomers have won the Nobel Prize, the Prime Minister's Science Prize, and Australian Research Council Laureate, Federation, and Future Fellowships.  RSAA academics are members of the National Academies of Science in Australia, the USA, the UK, the Netherlands, and Spain.  Our graduating students regularly achieve prestigious international fellowships including Fulbright, Zonta, Hubble, CfA, ESO, Magellan, and Jansky Fellowships.

PhD research projects are at the cutting-edge of Astrophysics ranging from observations with the Hubble Space Telescope and state-of-the-art telescopes of the European Southern Observatory to theoretical simulations and modelling with high performance computers at ANU and the National Supercomputer facilities.

In addition to PhD projects in observational and theoretical Astrophysics we also offer PhDs in instrumentation research. The RSAA is leading the consortium for the ESO VLT instrument MAVIS and Australia's participation in the Giant Magellan Telescope as well as the development of the Giant Magellan Telescope Integral-Field Spectrograph. 

The Australian National University is located in Canberra, one of the few capital cities where nature reserves and parkland are integral to the urban planning. RSAA is based at Mount Stromlo within the Stromlo Forest Park. The Park includes a world-class mountain-biking trail, the Robert de Castella cross-country running track, the Stephen Hodge Criterium cycling circuit, and extensive equestrian and hiking trails.

PhD scholarship applications are due on December 10, 2021.  For details on how to apply to the RSAA graduate program, eligibility requirements, and a selection of available research supervisors and projects, see

Application Deadline: 
Friday, December 10, 2021
Selection Deadline: 
Friday, January 21, 2022
Current Status of Position: 
Accepting Applicants
Apply to Job
Attention To: 
Professor Helmut Jerjen
Chair, PhD admissions committee
Inquiries About Job
Attention To: 
Professor Helmut Jerjen
Graduate admissions