PhD positions at the Australian National University / Mt. Stromlo Observatory

Submission Information
Publish Date: 
Saturday, September 14, 2019
Archive Date: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Job Summary
Job Category: 
Pre-doctoral/Graduate Positions
Institution Classification/Type: 
Large Academic
Australian National University
Department Name: 
Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Street Line 1: 
Mt. Stromlo Observatory
Street Line 2: 
Cotter Rd.
Job Announcement Text: 

The Research School for Astronomy & Astrophysics (RSAA) at the Australian National University invites applications from outstanding undergraduate and masters students of all nationalities for fully-funded PhD scholarships to begin in 2020/2021. Students with previous research experience in astrophysics or related fields are particularly encouraged to apply.

The RSAA PhD Program includes innovative graduate level astrophysics courses taught by some of the world's preeminent astrophysicists, including Prime Minister's Science Prize winner Ken Freeman, Pawsey Medal winner Naomi McClure-Griffiths, Warner Prize winner Mark Krumholz, and Laureate Fellows Martin Asplund and Lisa Kewley. 

PhD research projects on offer are at the cutting-edge of astrophysics, and include observations with the Hubble Space Telescope, the VLT 8m telescopes, and simulations on ANU and national supercomputer facilities. Our graduating students regularly achieve prestigious international fellowships including Hubble, CfA, ESO, Magellan, and Jansky Fellowships.

The RSAA designed and built the first two Australian instruments for the Gemini Observatory, and is leading Australian participation in the Giant Magellan Telescope, including development of the Giant Magellan Telescope Integral-Field Spectrograph (GMTIFS). In addition to PhD projects in observational and theoretical astrophysics, we also offer PhDs in instrumentation research and development.

The Australian National University is located in Canberra, the capital city of Australia. Canberra is one of the few capital cities where nature reserves and parkland are integral to the city plan. RSAA is located at Mount Stromlo, within the Stromlo Forest Park.  The Stromlo Forest Park includes a world-class mountain-biking trail, the Robert de Castella cross-country running track, the Stephen Hodge Criterium cycling circuit, and extensive equestrian and hiking trails.

Scholarship applications are due on 30 Nov 2019.  For details on how to apply to the RSAA graduate program, eligibility requirements, and available research supervisors and projects, please see

Included Benefits: 

The ANU offers a friendly and collaborative work environment, generous leave entitlements (including vacation, sick, and maternity leave), thesis publication cost allowance and prestigious top-up fellowships.

Application Deadline: 
Saturday, November 30, 2019
Selection Deadline: 
Monday, January 20, 2020
Current Status of Position: 
Accepting Applicants
Apply to Job
Attention To: 
Prof. Helmut Jerjen
Chair, graduate admissions committee
Inquiries About Job
Attention To: 
Helmut Jerjen
Graduate admissions