Call for Applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships Commencing in 2022

Submission Information
Publish Date: 
Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Archive Date: 
Tuesday, July 27, 2021
To event remaining 32 days
Job Summary
Job Category: 
Post-doctoral Positions and Fellowships
Institution Classification/Type: 
Government Agency
Institution/Company: 
South African Radio Astronomy Observatory
Department Name: 
Human Capacity Development (HCD)
Street Line 1: 
17 Baker Street
Street Line 2: 
Observatory
City: 
Johannesburg
State/Province: 
Gauteng
Zip/Postal: 
2198
Country: 
South Africa
Announcement
Job Announcement Text: 

South African Radio Astronomy Observatory

Call for Applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships Commencing in 2022
Application Forms Available at: https://nrfsubmission.nrf.ac.za/nrfmkii/

The South African Radio Astronomy Observatory (SARAO) invites applications from suitably qualified candidates for five postdoctoral fellowships, commencing in 2022.


For 2022, SARAO will consider post-doctoral applications that focus on observational research programmes, which utilise key existing radio astronomy instruments located in South Africa. These include MeerKAT, HERA, C-BASS, early versions of HIRAX, and HartRAO facilities (including astrometry and geodesy applications). Amongst these, MeerKAT is the highest priority area. Other relevant research will also be considered.


1. Applicants for SARAO Postdoctoral Fellowships must have been active in research since obtaining their Doctoral degree. In the case of a break in research, an applicant must have obtained his/her Doctoral degree on, or after, 30 September 2017.
2. SARAO postdoctoral fellowships are only tenable at South African universities, and successful applicants must commence with their postdoctoral fellowships in South Africa on, or before, 1 October 2022.
3. SARAO postdoctoral fellowships are awarded for a period of three years.
4. The current value of a SARAO postdoctoral fellowship is ZAR 410,000 per annum (non-taxable). (Please note that the current value of the postdoctoral fellowship may be adjusted in 2022, to account for annual inflation changes.) The fellowship is supplemented by travel and equipment grants.
5. There is NO relocation grant for SARAO post-doctoral fellows, and successful applicants may NOT use their postdoctoral fellowship travel grants to cover the costs of their relocation to South Africa.
6. All applications must be endorsed by a host/supervisor, at the university in South Africa where the fellowship will be undertaken. A list of supervisors who have indicated that they are willing to host SARAO post-doctoral fellows is provided in the application guide on the online application system. Applicants are required to investigate the research specialisations of the individual hosts and institutions to inform their choices, and match their own strengths and interests. Applicants must contact the respective hosts to discuss the willingness of a host to endorse the application, and to discuss and draft a research project and implementation plan, for submission as part of the application.

Queries with regards to the application requirements or the application procedure, may be directed to:

Dr. Mthuthuzeli Zamxaka

Email: mzamxaka@ska.ac.za

Telephone: +27 11268-3424

 

Table 1: Supervisors / Host for SARAO-funded Post-doctoral Fellows in 2022

Name University Host/Supervisor Email Address Research Specialisation
Prof.        Andrew Chen University of the Witwatersrand Andrew.Chen@wits.ac.za MeerKAT Observations of Circumnuclear Outflows in Spiral Galaxies
Prof. Oleg Smirnov Rhodes University o.smirnov@ru.ac.za Algorithms, Calibration and Imaging, Direction-Dependent Effects
Prof. Amanda Weltman University of Cape Town amanda.weltman@uct.ac.za Cosmology, Astrophysics, HIRAX
Prof. Kavilan Moodley University of KwaZulu-Natal moodleyk41@ukzn.ac.za Observational Cosmology (HIRAX, MeerKAT)
Prof. Yin-Zhe Ma University of KwaZulu-Natal ma@ukzn.ac.za Epoch of Reionization, Fast Radio Bursts, and HI Intensity Mapping
Prof. Mattia Vaccari University of Western Cape mattia.vaccari@gmail.com Observational Galaxy & AGN Evolution, Cosmic Star Formation History, Multi-Wavelength Extragalactic Astronomy, Machine Learning in Astronomy
Prof. Petrie Meyer Stellenbosch University pmeyer@sun.ac.za Statistically Optimized Antenna Arrays
Prof. Micheal Backes North-West University mbackes@unam.na Precipitable water vapour measurements for the Africa Millimetre Telescope, a prospective telescope for the AVN
Dr Gyula I. G. Józsa Rhodes University jozsa@ska.ac.za Galaxy Evolution, Radio Astronomy, Analysis Techniques
Prof. Bruce Bassett University of Cape Town bruce.a.bassett@gmail.com Machine Learning, Observational Cosmology
Prof. Jaco Versfeld Stellenbosch University djjversfeld@sun.ac.za Signal Processing and Big Data
Prof. Renée C Kraan-Korteweg University of Cape Town kraan@ast.uct.ac.za Extragalactic Large-Scale Structure, Systematic HI Surveys, MeerKAT HI Surveys, Cosmic Flow Fields, Tull-Fisher Relation
Prof. Tim Gibbon Nelson Mandela University Tim.Gibbon@mandela.ac.za Coherent Frequency Reference and Data Signals over Optical Fibre Networks for the SKA
Dr Michelle Lochner University of Western Cape dr.michelle.lochner@gmail.com MeerKAT/ LSST Multiwavelength Research, Machine Learning, Statistics
Dr. Jacki Gilmore Stellenbosch University jackivdm@sun.ac.za Radio astronomy receiver system with integrated, adaptable RFI mitigation
Dr. Lanche Linden Grootboom Stellenbosch University llgrootboom@sun.ac.za Investigating and Characterising the Performance Metrics of an Active Integrated Antenna to be Used on a Mid-Frequency Aperture Array Antenna Receiver System
Prof. Roger Deane University of Pretoria roger.deane@up.ac.za Radio Astronomy
Dr. Trienko Grobler Stellenbosch University trienkog@gmail.com A comparison framework for RFI detection algorithms
Dr Johan Schoeman University of Pretoria j.schoeman@up.ac.za Calibration of wideband interleaved ADC structures
Prof. Matt Hilton University of KwaZulu-Natal hiltonm@ukzn.ac.za Galaxy Clusters, Galaxy Evolution, Observational Cosmology
Prof. Gianni Bernardi Rhodes University giannibernardi75@gmail.com 21cm Cosmology, Galaxy Clusters
Prof. Mario Santos University of Western Cape mgrsantos@uwc.ac.za Cosmology with MeerKAT/SKA, HI Intensity Mapping, Reionization and HERA
Prof. Tinus Stander University of Pretoria tinus.stander@up.ac.za Multi‐band and dispersive time delay circuits. Self‐calibrating time delay circuits. A compact integrated water vapour radiometer
Prof. Matthys Botha Stellenbosch University mmbotha@sun.ac.za Solver integration for large-scale radio astronomy antenna array analysis
Prof. Dirk de Villiers Stellenbosch University ddv@sun.ac.za Antenna Systems for Radio Astronomy
Prof. Patrick Woudt University of Cape Town pwoudt@ast.uct.ac.za Radio Transients, Cataclysmic Variables, Optical Synoptic Surveys
Dr Sarah Blyth University of Cape Town sarblyth@ast.uct.ac.za Galaxy Evolution and Large Scale Structure - Particularly interested in Evolution of Cold Gas Component of Galaxies over Cosmic Time (co-PI LADUMA HI survey)
Prof. Russ Taylor University of Cape Town russ@idia.ac.za The HI Mass and Velocity Functions for MIGHTEE-HI
Prof. Lerothodi Leeuw University of South Africa Lerothodi@alum.mit.edu Extragalactic Observational Astronomy

 

Pay Compensation
Salary Min: 
$2429.62 (USD)
Salary Max: 
$29155.44 (USD)
Application Deadline: 
Sunday, August 1, 2021
Selection Deadline: 
Friday, August 20, 2021
Current Status of Position: 
Accepting Applicants
Apply to Job
Attention To: 
Dr. Mthuthuzeli Zamxaka
Title: 
Manager: Research Capacity Development
Institution/Company: 
South African Radio Astronomy Observatory
Department Name: 
Human Capacity Development (HCD)
Street Line 1: 
18A Gill Street
Street Line 2: 
Observatory
City: 
Johannesburg
State/Province: 
Gauteng
Zip/Postal Code: 
2198
Country: 
South Africa
Phone: 
0112682434
FAX: 
0114422454
Email: 
mzamxaka@ska.ac.za
Inquiries About Job
Attention To: 
Dr. Mthuthuzeli Zamxaka
Subject: 
Call for Applications for Postdoctoral Fellowships Commencing in 2022
Email: 
mzamxaka@ska.ac.za